My YouTube channel finally hit 100k!

The Saveitforparts website has been around since 2001, when I registered the domain in college. Here’s what it looked like 22 years ago (insert joke about my website being old enough to drink):

The frames… the imagemaps… the 30px gifs… they burn!

The Saveitforparts Channel has been sort of a real(ish) thing since about 2020. I had some content on there before, but it wasn’t really set up as a regular “thing”. After some of the monorail videos got popular, I started doing project videos on YouTube. They were awkward, clumsy, and apparently popular enough to get me 1,000 subscribers pretty quickly.

The channel kind of poked along, getting not-that-many views on average. Occasionally there’d be a spike in viewership as the mysterious YouTube algorithm picked something up and promoted it.

Fast-forward to this spring, and the ever-mysterious algorithm decided to push some of my videos to the front page. Boom, suddenly I had 100k subscribers. I’m still not sure how it happened, and the traffic count died off just as fast as it usually does from one of these spikes. For those who think you rake in the cash at 100k… nope! I think you have to be up in the million subscriber range to quit your real job. What you DO get is every seller on Amazon asking you to review their products. Free samples are fun, but I don’t want to become just a review channel!

Anyway, YouTube sends you a wall plaque when you hit certain milestones, and the meme-y thing to do is mistreat them in some way. I took it easy on mine since I actually want it hanging on the wall! Instead of strapping it to a rocket or a submarine, I strapped it to a satellite dish! I was surprised to find that it had good SWR at the frequency range used by military SATCOM systems. Since these are mostly taken over by Brazilian truck drivers, it meant I could listen to CB traffic in Portuguese. Since I don’t speak Portuguese, this is just as entertaining and useless as it sounds.

Anyway, that’s all I have on this Youtube Thing at the moment. I’ll keep cross-spamming my interesting videos over here, and as always you can find them all here.

One Response to My YouTube channel finally hit 100k!

  1. ZOLODIO says:

    Classic flaming header on the old site

Leave a comment