Forgotten Railroad Updates

I recently traveled to Juneau, AK for some research on obscure Alaskan railroads. The Alaska State Library and Archives were incredibly helpful in pulling materials for me. I found enough material in their catalog that I estimated I’d need a week to go through it all, but they had it so streamlined I was able to get through my list in only 4 days! Of course in the meantime I generated another list just as long of related collections, additional sources, and expanded lines of inquiry! Hopefully I can get back to Juneau again for further research. I’m almost ready to turn this into a book, although I’m still hoping to find a way to visit some of these remote locations in person for photo documentation.

I’m slowly updating my railroad page with details, photos, maps, and other documents from this archival visit as I sort through the material. In the meantime, here are a few interesting tidbits!

t7

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, PCA 12

jualpa1

t1

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, MS 999

t2

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, PCA 119

 

t3

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, PCA 119

t4

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, MS 39

 

t6

Courtesy of Alaska State Archives, MS 999

Leave a Reply

