Historic Juneau Photos

I recently returned from a trip to Juneau, Alaska, where I spent quite a bit of time in the state archives. Most of my research focused on the history of small railroads in the state, as well as some Funter Bay history. However, I also came across a few photos that were unrelated but just too cool to ignore. I’ve uploaded the high-res scans of some of these here to share with interested people. Click the previews below for the full size pictures, but be aware they are large files and may take a while to download if you have a slow internet connection!

Treadwell Mine:

Douglas, 1915:

Downtown Juneau, 1915(?)

Downtown Juneau from Mt. Juneau, showing Last Chance Basin at left. Date uncertain:

All of these are courtesy of the Alaska State Archives, Henson Family Photograph Collection, PCA 310

2 Responses to Historic Juneau Photos

  1. Charlie says:

    Excellent to see these! What, if anything, did you happen to find regarding Alaska Central/Alaska Northern that I might not have been able to glean from the Web already?

    • I didn’t spend much time on the Alaska Railroad and its predecessors, as I’m mainly focused on the smaller and lesser known lines. I did come across a few early construction photos and one or two photos of auto speeders, I might post some of those as I have time.

Leave a Reply

